Detached

We spend so much time with media. So much time reading about how Mariah Carey completely obliterated her set on TV for New Years Eve. Or “30 celebs you forgot about” articles. I could spend hours a day on the internet looking and reading and participating. I used to think of the internet as this mystical place where you could look up anything and get answers. Now I feel that the internet is so vast that there is too much to read or see or do.

I remember when I was about 16 years old, I was browsing the internet when I found a really interesting blog. I stayed up all night reading about this woman who had multiple personality disorder. Her blog told you all the different personalities, along with their names and where they came from. It was so interesting that I just couldn’t stop reading. My mom woke up in the morning and asked me if I was doing “white crosses”. I laughed so hard and had no earthly idea what she was referring to. I later asked and she told me that was slang for Methamphetamines or Amphetamines. I was just completely enthralled and excited about this hidden gem I had found. I have since completely forgotten what website this was or what the woman’s name was. I sure wish I could remember, because I would most likely read it again.

But now, as I said before, there is so much to read or see. We get caught up in all these things that we forget to move- do things, live life. We forget that we are sitting in a comfortable spot or with our friends even, completely distracted by our phones. Even when my phone is on silent, I am still distracted by the vibration of my cell phone when it goes off. Hell, I am distracted by the thought that maybe my phone has a notification.

I keep trying to make sure that I take as many moments as I can during the day without focusing on social media, texts, phone calls, etc. I find it hard when I am working my direct sales business with Scentsy. Since I live in a smaller town I have to really promote via social media to connect to those in other areas that I know. I have to make sure that I stay relevant.

I cannot imagine how crazy the differences would be if you looked a celebrity lives now versus back in the 1950’s. Life seemed so much more simple then, however a little too sheltered for me. Being a part of the LBGTQ community, I don’t imagine life would have been pleasant for me back then.

I just cannot imagine what life will be like in ten years from now, or where we will be with technology. I cannot imagine the amount of human interaction that will decline as we go through the years. I find it horribly sad that we are losing the most basic part of human nature to machines, cellular devices, and distractions.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

